Okay!  Time to post my first ever blog recipe.  Here goes nothing!

Tonight we had turkey burgers.  I find the turkey is pretty well a blank canvas, so you can transform it with lots of flavor, and get the desired results almost every time.   Tonight’s version is a grilled honey mustard turkey burger.

Here’s the low down:
1 lb. of ground turkey
1 tsp. minced garlic
1 1/2 tsp. rancher’s steak rub (I used Wildtree…you can use any brand)
1 green onion chopped
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
2 tsp. worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp. honey mustard (any will do)
1/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs (these bind the mix a little & are also not pictured…oops!)

Image
Gently mix all ingredients together, form into 4 evenly sized patties.  Cook on a medium flame until the juices run clear (or you could cook them in a pan, your choice, I’m not watching you).

Image

BONUS!!  I made home fries, too!

2 large russet potatoes washed & evenly diced (skin on)
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tbsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. cumin
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 green onion chopped
1/8 cup bacon bits
oil to cover bottom of the pan

 ****my secret tip to PERFECT home fries – boil them first, until almost tender, but still firm.****

Heat the oil (I like to use a cast iron skillet) on medium to med. high heat, until it start to ripple a little, then add the potatoes and seasonings.  Mix well and cook until they start to get crispy on one side.  Turn the potatoes and continue to cook.

Image
Today I also added shredded sharp cheddar cheese to the top…cheese makes everything more delicious (you agree, right?!).

Image

I served the burgers on a pretzel bun that I made the other day (recipe: http://penniesonaplatter.com/2011/10/14/pretzel-rolls/).  I slathered the top of the bun with whole grain thyme mustard, added lettuce & cucumber and the burger hot off the grill.  You can use whatever topping you like, but simplicity is a wonderful thing, when you have a burger this packed full of flavor.  :)  Put a few home fries on your plate, grab a BIG napkin, it’s time to eat!!

